Go to the ArtPrize mobile app.
ArtPrize has a new mobile app for 2021! Learn more here.
Photo of Jiyoung Ko

Jiyoung Ko

Grand Rapids, MI, United States

Jiyoung Ko – is a Michigan based composer of orchestral, chamber, and vocal music. One of her compositions was described as a “brilliant study in timbre, tone, and color… a haunting piece” (AB Newswire) Her work has been performed in the United States, South Korea, Japan, and Germany by various ensembles, including Dal Niente, Del Sol String Quartet, New York New Music Ensemble, NEC Honors Ensemble and KNUA Chamber Ensemble. Ko was selected for the 2018 Civic Orchestra of Chicago New Music Workshop with coaching by the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE) at Chicago’s Symphony Center. In 2017, her orchestral work, Spring Overture, was mentioned as an alternate for the Minnesota Orchestra Composer Institute. Other recent honors include winning Honors Ensemble at The New England Conservatory, and an award for a String Quartet competition featuring Del Sol String Quartet. Ko has been a fellow at the June In Buffalo Music Festival, Pacific Rim Music Festival, and NONG Music Festival, and participated in master classes with Unsuk Chin, John Harbison, Donald Crockett, Krzysztof Penderecki. She received her master’s degree from The New England Conservatory and her bachelor’s degree from Korea National University of Arts where she studied with Michael Gandolfi, Kati Agocs, and Geonyoug Lee. The Grand Rapids Symphony will showcase four original compositions from multiple composers at the Old Morton space located on Monroe Center September 26 – 29th, 2018 with Jacomo Bairos conducting. This composition is titled 'Remembrances'.

Jiyoung's ArtPrize Entries

These are Jiyoung's official ArtPrize entries from this year and past years.