Go to the ArtPrize mobile app.
ArtPrize has a new mobile app for 2021! Learn more here.

GRAND RAPIDS, Michigan (SEPTEMBER 26, 2016) --  ArtPrize, the radically open international art competition decided by public vote and expert jury, tonight hosted the fifth annual Jurors’ Shortlist Event at the ArtPrize HUB/HQ Theater. Four ArtPrize Eight category award jurors revealed their shortlists of five artist entries in the categories of 2D, 3D, Installation, and Time-based. These twenty finalists will be in the running to win their respective $12,500 category awards and ultimately the $200,000 Juried Grand Prize presented by Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University. A fifth category award juror selected five ArtPrize venues to compete for the $12,500 Outstanding Venue juried award. The juried category award and Grand Prize winners will be announced at the Eighth Annual ArtPrize Awards on October 7—broadcast live on local NBC affiliate, WOOD TV8.

“Each year the Category Jurors’ Shortlist creates a dialogue, offering a counterpoint to the public vote and highlighting the various ways that individuals approach, assess and engage with contemporary art,” noted Christian Gaines, ArtPrize Executive Director: “Whether their choices surprise, excite, baffle, or infuriate, conversations are sparked amongst ArtPrizers and the community around contemporary art.”

The category award jurors are Tina Rivers Ryan, art historian, critic, and educator specializing in modern and contemporary art (2-D); Omar Lopez-Chahoud, Artistic Director and Curator of UNTITLED Art Fair, Miami Beach and San Francisco (3-D); Yesomi Umolu, Exhibitions Curator at the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts at the University of Chicago (Time-Based); Deana Haggag, Director of The Contemporary in Baltimore, Maryland (Installation); and Steve Dietz, Founder, President, and Artistic Director of Northern Lights.mn in Minneapolis (Outstanding Venue).

“The ArtPrize Eight category jurors’ expert background and original perspective highlights work that is relevant in their perspective categories,” said Kevin Buist, ArtPrize Director of Exhibitions. “The Jurors’ Shortlist will challenge and inspire visitors to look closer at this year’s entries, and to step outside of their comfort zones as Round 1 of the public vote continues.”

Tonight the five category award jurors took to the Critical Discourse stage to reveal their shortlisted picks within their respective categories. In no particular order, they are as follows:


  • Charted Memories at Calvin College - (106) Gallery by Keren Kroul from Minneapolis, MN
  • Coherency at Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum, by Faig Ahmed from Baku, Azerbaijan
  • les bêtes at the City Water Building by the Richard App Gallery, by Isaac Aoki from Grand Rapids, MI
  • Survival Does Not Lie In The Heavens at the Grand Rapids Art Museum, by Dario Robleto from Houston, TX
  • Transformation (Metamorphosis) at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown & Jam'n Bean Coffee Company at the Waters Center, by Chakila Hoskins from Grand Rapids, MI. 

The three-dimensional juried category award is presented by Haworth.


  • Christmas Eve, 1933 at SiTE:LAB / Rumsey St. Project, by Mark Dion from New York, NY
  • Hybrid Structures at SiTE:LAB / Rumsey St. Project, by Alois Kronschlaeger from Brooklyn, NY and Paul Amenta and Ted Lott from Grand Rapids, MI
  • This Space is Not Abandoned at 912 Grandville Avenue, by 912 CollABORATIVE from Grand Rapids, MI
  • Untitled at UICA Exit Space at Grand Rapids Ballet Co., by Louise Chen from Grand Rapids, MI
  • Wars and Rumors of Wars at the Urban Institute for Contemporary Arts, by Eric Dickson from New York, NY


Outstanding Venue

The ArtPrize awards structure brings parallel tracks of public vote and juried awards totaling $500,000. Two $200,000 awards are decided by public vote and expert jury, and an additional $100,000 in prizes is awarded to the top entries in each category. During the 19 days of the eighth annual event, 1,453 artist entries representing 44 countries and 40 U.S. states are competing for these entry prizes, while 170 venues across Grand Rapids vie for the Outstanding Venue juried award.

The Public Vote Top 25 dynamic lists in each entry category will be live on artprize.org at 9:00 a.m. EDT tomorrow, September 27. Round 1 Voting, during which the public may vote for as many artists as they choose to determine the Public Vote Final 20, will continue until October 1 at 11:59 p.m. EDT. The Public Vote Final 20 Announcement event, presented by Consumers Energy, will occur the following day, October 2 at 1:00 p.m. EDT at Rosa Parks Circle, and voting will continue with Round 2 from October 2 at 2:00 p.m. EDT to October 6 at 11:59 p.m. EDT, during which each visitor may cast up to 20 votes—one for each finalist—for the entry or entries they believe should win the top prize of $200,000. The winners of both the public vote and juried awards will be announced at the Eighth Annual ArtPrize Awards ceremony, presented by the DTE Energy Foundation,  on October 7.

By Jaenell Woods on