Go to the ArtPrize mobile app.
ArtPrize has a new mobile app for 2021! Learn more here.

Following the first round of voting, ArtPrize visitors have selected the twenty finalists—five entries from each category—that will move on with the chance of taking home the $200,000 Public Vote Grand Prize.

GRAND RAPIDS, Michigan, October 4, 2015 – ArtPrize, the radically open international art competition decided by public vote and expert jury, today announced the twenty artist entries selected from among 1,550 eligible works during the first round of public voting—presented by Meijer—that will move on to Round 2 Voting with the hopes of winning the world’s largest art prize. Hundreds of visitors filled Rosa Parks Circle in downtown Grand Rapids this afternoon as ArtPrize Founder, Rick DeVos, and Executive Director, Christian Gaines, revealed the public’s top picks.

“The public vote is absolutely vital to the ArtPrize event, as year over year tens of thousands of visitors take the time to diligently explore hundreds of entries and discover their favorites,” noted Christian Gaines, ArtPrize Executive Director. “These deliberations reveal new layers of engagement — sparking an often intense and passionate dialogue around why art is important.”

Round 1 Voting closed last night at 11:59 p.m., and 30,994 visitors had cast 377,302 votes for art, elevating five artist entries from each category—2-D, 3-D, Installation, and Time-Based. These twenty ArtPrize Seven entries will move on to the second round of voting, with the chance of winning over $200,000 in cash awards.

“Every year the conversations surrounding the Public and Juried Shortlists evolve and grow and it’s incredibly inspiring to witness,” noted Kevin Buist, ArtPrize Exhibitions Director. “ArtPrize is a catalyst for debate and discussion and the dynamic between these differing opinions and selections is often where the most fruitful and intriguing conversations lie."

The ArtPrize Seven Final 20 includes four prize-winning Artists from 2013, each of whom are displaying in the same venue as their 2013 entry.

In no particular order, the ArtPrize Seven Public Vote Final 20 are as follows:

The 2-D Public Vote Category Award is presented by Foremost Insurance.

  • As Above at Grand Rapids Art Museum, by Judith Braun from New York, New York
  • Triple Play at Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum, by Anni Crouter from Flint, Michigan, winner of the 2nd Place $75,000 public vote award at ArtPrize 2013
  • michigan petoskey stone at DeVos Place Convention Center, by Randall Libby from Manistee, Michigan
  • Northwood Awakening at Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum, by Loveless PhotoFiber from Frankfort, Michigan, winner of the $200,000 ArtPrize 2013 Public Vote Grand Prize
  • In a Promised Land… at DeVos Place Convention Center, by Shawn Michael Warren from Harvey, Illinois


  • Greatest Generation/Beta Team/November at Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum, by Fred Cogelow from Willmar Minnesota
  • The Race at DeVos Place Convention Center, by Kurt Swanson from Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • Rolling Down at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, by Kroeze Krew from Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • Seasons at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, by Robin Protz from New Hartford, Connecticut, winner of the 7th Place $5,000 public vote award at ArtPrize 2013
  • MAYA 7624 at Kendall College of Art & Design / Fed Galleries at KCAD, by Seungmo Park from New Jersey City, New Jersey

The Installation Public Vote Category Award is presented by Amway.

  • REACH and SPLASH at Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum, by Andy Sacksteder from Port Clinton, Ohio, winner of the 3rd Place $50,000 public vote award at ArtPrize 2013
  • Balancing Act at Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum, by Calvin Babich from Toledo, Ohio
  • TIME & AGAIN Grand Rapids at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, by Midge Bolt from Pepin, Wisconsin and Doreen Gunnink from Kentwood, Michigan
  • SENSI at at Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum, by Gianluca Traina from Ventimiglia de Sicilia, Italy
  • The Grand Rapid Tape Drawing at TowerPinkster—Architects | Engineers, by The Tape Art Crew from Providence, Rhode Island

The Time-Based Public Vote Category Award is presented by DTE Energy Foundation.

  • Movement at Grand Rapids Public Museum, by Craig Merchant from Wyoming, Michigan
  • Whisper at 250 Monroe, by Emily Kennerk from Zionsville, Indiana
  • BREAKTHROUGH at DeVos Place Convention Center, by Breakthrough Team from Ada, Michigan
  • Hometown Hero at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, by Pamela Alderman from Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • Symphony of Gestures at Urban Institute for Contemporary Arts, by Sara Dittrich and Benjamin Buchanan from Baltimore, Maryland

The top three winners from 2013 once again stand the chance of winning a cash prize at ArtPrize Seven—with each returning to the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum for this year’s competition. Ann Loveless, ArtPrize 2013 $200,000 Grand Prize winner for her quilt Sleeping Bear Dune Lakeshore, returns to ArtPrize Seven alongside husband Steven Loveless with a collaborative piece. Anni Crouter finished second in 2013—taking home the $75,000 prize for her hyper realistic painting, Polar Expressed. Andy Stacksteader took home the third place $50,000 prize in 2013 for his sculpture, Uplifting. Robin Protz, who also collected a $5,000 prize in 2013 for Myth-or-Logic, is once again a public vote favorite at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel.

ArtPrize visitors will have one more opportunity to voice their opinions and decide the winners of over $200,000 in prizes. Round 2 Voting will commence at 2:00 p.m. EST today, October 4 and will run through October 8 at 11:59 p.m. EST. Visitors can cast up to twenty votes, one per finalist, and ArtPrize encourages visitors to consider voting for at least one entry in each category. The winners of both the public and juried awards totaling $500,000 will be announced at the Seventh Annual ArtPrize Awards on October 9.

By Jaenell Woods on