Go to the ArtPrize mobile app.
ArtPrize has a new mobile app for 2021! Learn more here.

 GRAND RAPIDS (Michigan) SEPTEMBER 25, 2017 — ArtPrize, the international art competition recognized as the world’s largest annual public art event, tonight hosted the sixth annual Jurors’ Shortlist Event at the ArtPrize Studio, powered by ITC, Your Energy Superhighway. Four ArtPrize Nine category award jurors revealed their shortlists of five artist entries in the categories of 2D, 3D, Installation, and Time-Based. These twenty finalists will join the twenty public vote finalists, to be announced on October 1, and will be in the running for $500,000 in prizes — including two $200,000 Grand Prizes and $100,000 in Category Awards. A fifth category award juror selected five ArtPrize venues to compete for the $12,500 Outstanding Venue juried award. The juried category award and Grand Prize winners will be announced at the Ninth Annual ArtPrize Awards on October 6 — broadcast live on local NBC affiliate, WOOD TV8.

The $200,000 Juried Grand Prize, presented by Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University, will be decided by a panel of three jurors including Gaëtane Verna, Director of The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery in Toronto; Christopher Scoates, Director of Cranbrook Academy of Art and Art Museum in Detroit; and Gia Hamilton, Director at Joan Mitchell Center in New Orleans.

“The ArtPrize Nine category jurors each bring a unique perspective to the event, and have nominated works to their shortlists that are relevant and of the time within their respective categories,” commented Kevin Buist, ArtPrize Director of Exhibitions. “The selected works will challenge visitors to look more deeply at the range of entries spread across this year’s event, as Round 1 of the public vote continues.”

The category award jurors are Miranda Lash, Curator of Contemporary Art at the Speed Art Museum in Louisville (2-D); Rachel Adams, Senior Curator of Exhibitions for the University at Buffalo Art Galleries, (3-D); Scott Stulen, Director and President of Philbrook Museum of Art in Tulsa (Time-Based); Anila Quayyum Agha, Artist, Associate Professor of Drawing at Herron School of Art in Indianapolis, and $300,000 Public Vote and Juried Award winner at ArtPrize 2014 for her work Intersections (Installation); and Larry Ossei-Mensah, New York-based independent curator and cultural critic, Co-Founder of ARTNOIR (Outstanding Venue).

Tonight the five category award jurors took to the ArtPrize Studio stage to reveal their shortlisted picks within their respective categories. In no particular order, they are as follows:

The two-dimensional juried category award is presented by Western Michigan University.

The three-dimensional juried category award is presented by Haworth.

  • Recovery of Icarus” by Rolf Jacobsen at Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park (Grand Rapids, MI)
  • Frontiers” by Benjamin Jones at the city water building by the richard app gallery (Belchertown, MA)
  • Flint” by Ti-Rock Moore at Fountain Street Church (New Orleans, LA)
  • Bloodline” by Holly Wilson at Monroe Community Church (Mustang, OK)
  • Laborer” by Mike Wsol at Grand Rapids Public Museum (Lilburn, GA)


  • Canceled Edition” by Pippin Frisbie Calder at Urban Institute for Contemporary Arts (UICA) (New Orleans, LA)
  • ENMESH” by Leroi DeRubertis at Grand Rapids Art Museum (Durham, NC)
  • Two-way Protocols” by Zane Miller at The Fed Galleries @ KCAD, Kendall College of Art and Design (Columbus, OH)
  • Society of 23's Locker Dressing Room” by Jeffrey Augustine Songco at the city water building by the richard app gallery (Grand Rapids, MI)
  • Bushcraft... Radical Stimulus” by Jessica Wildman at Grand Rapids Art Museum (Highland Park, MI)


  • Go-Rilla Means War” by Crystal Z Campbell at Rumsey Street (Oklahoma City, OK)  
  • Red Dirt Rug Monument” by Rena Detrixhe at Western Michigan University - Grand Rapids (Tulsa, OK)
  • The Heartside Community Meal” by Seitu Jones at Urban Institute for Contemporary Arts (UICA) (St. Paul, MN)
  • Remission” by Paul Kaiser and John Charter at the city water building by the richard app gallery (West and North Hollywood, CA)
  • Searching” by Le'Andra LeSeur at The Fed Galleries @ KCAD, Kendall College of Art and Design (Jersey City, NJ)

Outstanding Venue
The outstanding venue juried category award is presented by Wolverine Worldwide.

Following the addition of juried awards in 2010, ArtPrize introduced its parallel awards structure in 2014 — splitting the $500,000 in cash prizes equally among the public vote and jury of art experts. The prizes are awarded through two rounds. The first round narrows the field of 1,346 artist entries, representing 47 countries and 41 US states, installed at 175 venues throughout Grand Rapids to two sets of finalists — twenty decided by public vote and twenty by expert jury.

New in 2017, the second round will remove the distinction between the two sets of finalists, bringing them together to form a pool of up to forty finalists. The voting public and jury of art experts will have the opportunity to consider all forty finalists, regardless of how they were selected, when choosing the winners of their respective awards — including the two $200,000 Grand Prizes and $100,000 in Category Awards.

“Each year the Category Jurors’ Shortlist creates a dialogue, offering a counterpoint to the public vote and highlighting the various ways that individuals approach, assess and engage with contemporary art,” noted Christian Gaines, ArtPrize Executive Director. “We want this update to the awards structure to draw attention to this connection and tension by asking both to consider the other’s picks."

The Public Vote Top 25 dynamic lists in each entry category will be live on artprize.org at 9 a.m. EDT tomorrow, September 26. Round 1 Voting, during which the public may vote for as many artists as they choose to determine the Public Vote Final 20, will continue until October 1 at 11:59 p.m. EDT. The Public Vote Final 20 Announcement event, presented by Consumers Energy, will occur the following day, October 1 at 1 p.m. EDT at Rosa Parks Circle, and voting will continue with Round 2 from October 1 at 2 p.m. EDT to October 5 at 11:59 p.m. EDT, during which each visitor may cast up to 40 votes — one for each finalist — for the entry or entries they believe should win their top prize of $200,000. The winners of both the public vote and juried awards will be announced at the Ninth Annual ArtPrize Awards ceremony, presented by the DTE Energy Foundation, on October 6 at 9 p.m. EDT.

By Jaenell Woods on