Go to the ArtPrize mobile app.
ArtPrize has a new mobile app for 2021! Learn more here.

Tonight each of five ArtPrize category award jurors announced the five shortlisted entries and venues that will be in the running to take home up to $300,000 in prizes.

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. September 29, 2014 – ArtPrize, the radically open, international art competition, tonight hosted the third annual Jurors’ Shortlist Event at the ArtPrize HUB. Four ArtPrize 2014 category award jurors revealed their shortlist of five artist entries in the categories of 2D, 3D, Installation, and Time-based. These twenty finalists will be in the running to win their respective $20,000 category awards and ultimately the $200,000 Juried Grand Prize. A fifth category award juror selected five ArtPrize venues to compete for the $20,000 Outstanding Venue juried award. The juried category award and Grand Prize winners will be announced at the ArtPrize Awards on October 10.

“This is the first year that we’ll see the public vote mirror the juried awards in a truly parallel way, allowing us to compare side-by-side what the jurors find fascinating to what resonates with visitors,” commented Christian Gaines, ArtPrize executive director. “Tonight’s announcement of the jurors’ shortlists will open up the conversation over the next several days as the public continues to vote for their top picks.”

The category award jurors are Andrew Russeth, co-executive editor of ARTnews (2D); Shamim Momin, head of the Los Angeles Nomadic Division (3D); Hrag Vartanian, editor-in-chief and co-founder of Hyperallergic (Time-Based); Ariel Saldivar, independent, and former Associate Director of The Goss-Michael Foundation (Installation); and Tumelo Mosaka, independent curator (Outstanding Venue).

“The ArtPrize category jurors, selected based on their expertise in their given categories, take on a huge role and responsibility to review the landscape of ArtPrize entries and venues, and then select their top five,” noted Kevin Buist, ArtPrize director of exhibitions. “We’re fortunate to be joined by five very talented individuals who will help visitors to look more deeply at some of the incredible artwork displayed across ArtPrize 2014.”

Tonight the five category award jurors took the Critical Discourse stage to reveal their shortlisted picks within their respective categories. In no particular order, they are as follows:





Outstanding Venue

The updated ArtPrize awards structure brings parallel tracks of public vote and juried awards totalling $560,000. Both the public and jury will award a $200,000 grand prize, as well as $20,000 category awards. During the 19 days of ArtPrize 2014, 1,536 artist entries representing 51 countries and 42 U.S. states are competing for these entry prizes, while 174 venues across Grand Rapids vie for the $20,000 Outstanding Venue juried award.

The Public Vote Top 25 dynamic lists in each entry category will be live on artprize.org at 9:00 a.m. EDT on September 30. Round 1 Voting, during which the public may vote for as many artists as they choose to determine the Public Vote Final 20, will continue until October 4 at 11:59 p.m. EDT. The Public Vote Final 20 to be announced the following day, October 5 at 2:00 p.m. EDT at Rosa Parks Circle. The voting will continue with Round 2 from October 5 at 3:00 p.m. EDT to October 9 at 11:59 p.m. EDT, during which each visitor may cast up to 20 votes—one for each finalist—for the entry or entries they believe should win the top prize of $200,000. The winners of both the public vote and juried awards will be announced at the ArtPrize Awards on October 10.

The juried category awards are generously presented by ITC, Your Energy Superhighway (2D), Haworth (3D), and Grand Valley State University (Outstanding Venue). Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University presents the $200,000 2014 Juried Grand Prize. The Public Vote, central to the ArtPrize event, is sponsored by Meijer, and the 2D and 3D Public Vote $20,000 category awards are presented by Foremost Insurance and Deloitte, respectively.


ArtPrize is an international art competition, open to any artist and decided by public vote. It invites artists to try out new ideas on a large and diverse population of people. It seeks to broaden the critical dialogue around contemporary art by awarding the world’s largest art prize, at $560,000. Registered artists and venues connect online at artprize.org and agree to present the artwork for public display during the 19-day event. The public votes using mobile devices and the web to distribute $260,000, while an additional $300,000 in juried awards are decided by a group of international art experts. ArtPrize 2014 will include 1,536 entries representing 51 countries and 42 U.S. states and territories. ArtPrize 2013 attracted more than 400,000 active participants. Since its inception, individuals of all backgrounds have cast more than 1.7 million votes for public art.

ArtPrize is made possible in part through the generous support of many organizations. Corporate Premier Leadership sponsors include Amway, Founders Brewing Company, Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University, Meijer, PNC Bank and The Rapid. Leadership sponsors include Consumers Energy, CWD Real Estate Investment, Deloitte, Haworth, The Iserv Company, Steelcase Inc., and Wolverine Worldwide.

Leading Foundation Supporters include The Richard and Helen DeVos Foundation, The Daniel and Pamella DeVos Foundation, The Douglas and Maria DeVos Foundation, The Frey Foundation, Grand Rapids Community Foundation, and The VanderWeide Family Foundation.

MLive Media Group is the Official Provider of the 2014 ArtPrize Event Guide. WOOD TV8 is the Official Broadcast Media Partner of ArtPrize.

The Dick & Betsy DeVos Family Foundation is the Founding Sponsor of ArtPrize.

By Jaenell Woods on