Tonight ArtPrize hosted its Juried Short List announcement, where each of its five category jurors revealed his or her short list of five installations Two-Dimensional Art, Three-Dimensional Art, Time and Performance Art, Use of Urban Space, and Outstanding Venue. Each installation is now in the running for a $20,000 prize.

The Juried Short Lists represent the opinion of each category juror. During the past three days, five jurors have poured through 1,524 installations to identify five contenders for $20,000 prizes. Each juror is given the privilege of setting their own criteria for their category, and many will challenge us in how they have imagined and interpreted the category itself.

“These eagerly anticipated shortlists of installations and curated venues bring into being the tension between professional and populist opinions which is now so much a part of  the ArtPrize conversation,” said Christian Gaines, executive director of ArtPrize. “ArtPrize exists to support the ideas of artists and honor their courage, as well as to engage and challenge the community. It is the exchange of ideas and critical debate that is so unique to ArtPrize.”

ArtPrize updated its awards structure in 2012, to bring the influence of arts professionals in greater parity to public opinion. Each category juror will award $20,000 to a single artist (or in the case of the Venue award, a curator). Short list finalists by category include (in alphabetical order):

JUROR: John Yau, poet, critic, editor of Hyperallergic Weekend

Rick Beerhorst Painting Grand Rapids, Mich. DeVos Place Convention Center
Peter Crow Three and Four: Red, Yellow and Black Birmingham, Mich. Cathedral Square
Alexis Rockman Tropical Migrants New York, N.Y. Grand Rapids Art Museum
Mary Rousseaux Series 28 Untitled #1 Royal Oak, Mich. DeVos Place Convention Center
Kyle Staver Europa and the Flying Fish New York, N.Y. Grand Rapids Brewing Company

JUROR: Hesse McGraw, vice president for Exhibitions and Public Programs, San Francisco Art Institute

Daniel Arsham Watching New York, N.Y. Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park
Carlos Bunga Ecosystem Barcelona, Spain SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson
Cooley/Lewis Through the Skies for You Chattanooga, Tenn. Kendall College of Art & Design
Charles Matson Lume The world's an untranslatable language II (for Charles Wright) St. Paul, Minn Kendall College of Art & Design
Julie Schenkelberg The Unfounded Future of the Untold Brooklyn, N.Y. SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson

JUROR: Rashida Bumbray, curator, former curator at The Kitchen

Dance In the Annex Angle of Repose Grand Rapids, Mich. SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson
Maurice Jacobsen Facing Al Aqaba Al Aqaba, Palestine Ah-Nab-Awen Park
Arthur Liou Sonnet 27 Bloomington, Ind. SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson
Deanna Morse Whispers of the Prairie Grand Rapids, Mich. Grand Rapids Art Museum
Shahzia Sikander The Last Post New York, N.Y. Grand Rapids Art Museum

JUROR: Eva Franch I Gilabert, director of Storefront for Art and Architecture

Henry Brimmer I want to be different … (ladder) East Lansing, Mich. Monroe Center/ First Community Bank
Hanson and Feinburg Temporary's Pursuit of Permanence Minneapolis, Minn. Gillett Bridge
Maurice Jacobsen Facing Al Aqaba Al Aqaba, Palestine Ah-Nab-Awen Park
David Kail Egg Prize Grandville, Mich. Van Andel Arena
JD Urban United States: an everyday people project Brooklyn, N.Y. Calder Plaza

JUROR: Alice Gray Stites, chief curator and director of Art Programming, 21cMuseum

Auto Fixit Body Shop 805 Ottawa Avenue NW Monroe/ North Belknap
Craft House 40 Division Ave S Heartside
Grand Rapids Art Museum 101 Monroe Center Center City
Kendall College of Art & Design 17 Pearl St NW Center City
SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson 54 Jefferson Ave. SE Heartside

ArtPrize is the world’s largest art competition. It features public and professional juries, which award $560,000 in prizes. In 2013, 1,524 installations from 47 countries and 45 U.S. states and territories are competing for one of 16 prizes, ranging from $5,000 to $200,000.

In the first eleven days of competition, participants may vote via text message, mobile app or at for as many artists as they choose. At the end of the first round, the top ten vote-getters will become ArtPrize finalists. During the final five days, the second round of voting focuses on these ten finalists, with each voter getting only one vote—the artist who they believe should win the top prize of $200,000. The remaining $160,000 is distributed to the final nine vote-getters.

For more information, including a complete list of artists and their corresponding venues or the jury panel, visit

About ArtPrize
ArtPrize, a 501c3 non-profit corporation, is an international art competition, open to any artist and decided by public vote. It invites artists to try out new ideas on a large and diverse population of people. It seeks to broaden the critical dialogue around contemporary art by awarding the world’s largest art prize, at $560,000. Registered artists and venues connect online at and agree to present the artwork for public display during the 19-day event. The public votes using mobile devices and the web to distribute $360,000, while an additional $200,000 in juried awards are decided by a group of international art experts. ArtPrize 2013 will include 1,524 entries representing 47 countries and 45 U.S. states and territories, and is expected to attract more than 400,000 active participants. Since its inception, individuals of all backgrounds have cast more than 1.7 million votes for public art.

ArtPrize 2013 is presented by the Dick & Betsy DeVos Family Foundation. Premier Leadership sponsors include Amway, Founders Brewing Company, Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University, Meijer, PNC Bank, the Rapid and the DeVos Family Foundations. Leadership sponsors include Consumers Energy, Frey Foundation, Haworth, The Iserv Company, Steelcase Inc., Subaru, Trivalent Group | HP and Wolverine Worldwide. Premier Benefactor sponsors include Adtegrity, Deloitte, Delta Air Lines, Downtown Grand Rapids Inc., Edward Jones, Fox Motors, City of Grand Rapids Parking Services, Grand Valley State University, The Gilmore Collection, Heineken, Herman Miller, ITC, Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs, Mighty in the Midwest, National Endowment for the Arts, the Edgar & Elsa Prince Foundation, Scott Christopher Homes, Spectrum Health, Square One Design, St. Julian Winery, Terryberry, WGVU Public Media and Worksighted.

# # #

By Brian Burch on