Go to the ArtPrize mobile app.
ArtPrize has a new mobile app for 2021! Learn more here.

The Feminine Archetype and the Wheel of the Year

Nichol Skaggs's avatar Nichol Skaggs

The "Wheel of the Year" is annual cycle of 8 seasonal festivals and a symbolic almanac designed to deepen your relationship to the planet by focusing on the cycle of seasons according to the sun and the natural rhythms of life. Archetypes communicate to us through many symbols found in dreams, myth, literature, art, culture and religion. A goddess is the form that a feminine archetype may take, like Mother Nature. Goddess types represent models of ways of nurturing and being. Nature utilizes the seasons in caring and providing for the Earth. Each season, we are given the opportunity of change, rebirth, improvement and growth. In the Wheel of the Year four fire festivals are celebrated, these include Samhain/Oct 31, Imbolc/Feb 1, Beltane/May 1, and Lughnasadh/Aug 1. These sacred celebrations are combined with honoring the solstices and equinoxes called the four ‘quarter festivals’, Yule/Dec 21, Ostara/March 21, Litha/June 21, and Mabon/Sept 21. These celebrations still take place in our communities today. The turning of the Wheel represents the continuing birth, death and rebirth of nature and the corresponding rise and fall, ebb and flow of our inner lives. The paintings bring to life the stories of old and advocate celebrating all seasons of our life.

Entry Details
  • Art form: 2-D
  • Depth: 1.5 inches
  • Medium: Acrylic
  • Width: 216 inches
  • Year created: 2018
  • Height: 36 inches