Go to the ArtPrize mobile app.
ArtPrize has a new mobile app for 2021! Learn more here.

Le Quattro Stagioni - Vivaldi’s Wonderland

Abbey Wood's avatar Abbey Wood

Step into the breathtaking world of Antonio Vivaldi and overflow your senses with Le Quattro Stagioni. Italian for The Four Seasons, this wonderland of flowers is sure to delight all who visit it. Immerse yourself in the enchantment of spring, the splendor of summer, the majesty of autumn, and the glory of winter. Published in 1725 by Italian composer Antonio Vivaldi, Le Quattro Stagioni is a group of four violin concerti. Making up the first four of a series of twelve violin concerti, the entire concerto is titled Il cimento dell’armonia e dell’inventione (The Contest Between Harmony and Invention). Representing the four seasons: Spring (La primavera) in the upper left, Summer (L’estate) in the upper right, Autumn (L’autunno) in the lower right, and Winter (L'inverno) in the lower left, this glittering masterpiece represents the changing of the seasons. And with new season, a new bloom of flowers grow. The piece is divided into four sections, with each section representing one of the four seasons. Each section is made of flowers that bloom during that season. Designed to look like a mandala, each section blends together to create to create one piece, just as the four seasons blend together to create one year. When Le Quattro Stagioni was released, Vivaldi simultaneously released four accompanying sonnets, one for each season. Each sonnet, written in both English and Italian, is placed near each section of the mandala that it belongs to. Illuminated by LED lights, Le Quattro Stagioni - Vivaldi’s Wonderland is sure to be a dazzling enchantment that will take you worlds away.

Entry Details
  • Art form: 3-D
  • Depth: 3'
  • Medium: flowers, net lights, wood
  • Width: 3'
  • Year created: 2018
  • Height: 1/2'