Photo of Oxalis Martich

Oxalis Martich

Kentwood, MI, United States

I am a normal 20 years old; or am I? I was born in Grand Rapids on August 1997. I am a young lady that was label by a Doctor as someone that would not be able to talk, walk, sit up straight or go to school, but guess what? I graduated from Grand River Preparatory High School in 2016 and I am current going to GRCC pursuing an Interior Design career. A side from my job at MSA and volunteering as a Pathfinder Club counselor, I love to spend my time drawing and designing buildings. I see myself as a normal 20 years old with BIG dreams, a strong character and very determine to accomplish anything I set my mind to. But that was not always the case, I used to think I was not normal, that there was something wrong with me. Well, other than the fact that I had a stroke and developed a left multicystic encephalomacia, I have a few conditions; Hemiplegic cerebral palsy, Congenital Hemiplegia, right hearing loss, Intermittent esotropia, contracture of right elbow and ankle, and other things BUT I feel normal. Well, I may look fiscally different than almost everybody else, but thanks to God I had overcome many obstacles in my life and will continue in victory. Love yourself, accept yourself, believe in yourself, understand God made you for a great purpose just the way you are. And remember " It's ok to be different"

Oxalis's ArtPrize Entries

These are Oxalis's official ArtPrize entries from this year and past years.

  • Photo of It's OK to be Different

    It's OK to be Different

    2017 ArtPrize Entry Oxalis Martich
    More Details